North Central Iowa's Figure 8 Racing

New Leaders Emerge in Stock/Pro Stock at Osage

June 17, 2022    | by Shawn Dietz

It was a beautiful night for racing on Friday in Osage kicked off by

our first live singer for the Star Spangled Banner this year.

Travis Sprung of Riceville shared his vocal talents with the crowd

and provided a good way to start the evening.  The car count

slipped just a bit from our opening two dates with only a total of

43 coming out to compete.

Five of those drivers started us off with one heat in the Old School class.

Less than a half lap into that heat, Wyatt Sutter of Latimer would lose a rear axle after taking a hit and he would have to leave the race.  That would be the only red flag of the heat races – but there would be more to come after intermission.  Aredale’s Greg Harms picked up the win in the Old School heat, followed by Deven Heitland of Sheffield and Hunter Sutter of Latimer.

Smooth racing ensued for the remainder of the heats.  Small Car points leader, Rob Cretsinger of Waterloo took first place in the heat for that class.  There were two heats for the Cruiser Class where Mitch & Kyler Grummitt of Allison took first in heat one followed by car 109 out of Parkersburg driven by the tandem of Clayton & Bryan McDivitt.  In the Stock Class, a pair of drivers from Hampton took first place in their respective heat races.  The 198 of Kennedy Reynolds earned the top spot in heat one with #35 James Sprung leading the way in the second heat.  In the final heat races before intermission, the Pro Stock Class had Duane Zander of Coulter win heat one, and Dumont’s Zach Lewis earning the honors in heat two.

The lack of stoppages in the heat races would catch up in a couple of classes in the feature portion of the night.  There were also two drivers who climbed their way into control of the points standings in their classes by the end of the action as well.

The battle at the top of the Cruiser Class points standings continues to heat up following the feature race at Osage.  Coming into the night, the 22z of Duane & Jesse Zander of Coulter held a slight edge over the 29J of Mitch & Kyler Grummitt of Allison.  The Zanders would increase that lead slightly as Duane & Jesse were able to grab the checkered flag, followed by Jesse Mollenbeck & Ethan Viet of Hampton, and the Grummitts placing third.  The Cruiser standings now show Duane & Jesse with a four point lead; 264-260 of Mitch & Kyler.

The officials kept busy on the track in the Stock feature as two red flags followed the 6th lap.  Car 15, driven by Carson Nuehring of Rockwell stalled out and then left the track after he couldn’t get the car running again.  Almost immediately after returning to green, another red flag came out, this time due to a three-car pile up.  Once that entanglement was freed up, another red was dropped for a repeat pile up that ultimately caused car 109 driven by Bryan McDivitt of Parkersburg and car 93, controlled by Ben Dillon of Coulter, both to leave the race.  Down to just eight cars in the race, the dust finally settled and Logan Buseman of Janesville brought home his second checkered flag of the season, followed by new points leader Kennedy Reynolds of Hampton in second and Hampton’s Aaron Meyer bringing up third.  Reynolds, who was the points runner-up last season, has now turned in two consecutive performances of more than 80 points, which has helped her leap-frog to the top of the Stock Points standings, 32 points ahead of Aaron Meyer.  Latimer’s Dana Dohrmann was black-flagged and disqualified in the feature race, costing him 44 points, which would have kept him in second place at this point in the season.  However, due to the disqualification, Dohrmann is only awarded 20 competition points for showing up at the event.

Just like our Pro Stock feature in Charles City last week, the Osage competition turned in another hot battle for the top prize.  Nashua’s Anthony Marshall in car 27M led for fourteen laps and looked to be on his way to victory, but the 104 of Dumont’s Zach Lewis would eventually catch Marshall to grab the checkered flag and first place prize money.  A red flag at lap ten to clear debris from the track prompted a restart, and five laps later it was Lewis edging Marshall by less than a car length followed by the Iron Patriot #111 driven by Charles City’s Ed Putney in third.  Lewis is the other new points leader following Friday night’s races.  Coulter’s Duane Zander held the lead previously, but he was unable to score points in the feature race as he came up in 4th, allowing Lewis to take the points lead 240-226.  Grundy Center’s Dalton Haverkamp is also hanging around closely with 220 points, currently in third.

Six cars began the Small Car feature and only three would finish the race.  Two cars had left the track after four laps, and another would leave after lap five.  Russ Brymer of Nashua rolled his #66 car on lap five.  Mitchell County EMS and Osage Fire were quick to respond to the mishap and help Brymer from the vehicle.  He was uninjured and when racing resumed only three cars remained, so officials shortened the feature to a ten-lap completion.  Rob Cretsinger of Waterloo would pick up his second checkered flag of the season, and hold onto the points lead.  Riley Ehman of Holland finished in second, followed by Duane Ollendick of Charles City in third.

In the nightcap, four Old School cars were left to race in the feature for that class.  Sheffield’s Blayne Woltjer was leading the way for about half the race before spinning out and losing position, creating opportunity for the #12 of Deven Heitland to take control.  Heitland would hold on to grab the checkered flag, followed by Woltjer and Greg Harms would take third.

It’s a quick turnaround for the Gunderson crew and drivers as we’re set up for Father’s Day at the Worth County Fair in Northwood where racing action is slated to begin at 5 p.m.  Next weekend, it’s a back-to-back Saturday/Sunday turnaround as we head to Nashua for a 1 p.m. start time on Saturday, June 25th, followed by the Butler County Fair in Allison on Sunday, June 26th.